How to Use Smart Take on iPhone Duo

About This QuickTip
There's a brand-new feature on the iPhone Duo called Smart Take, which lets you get group photos and selfies without needing to touch the phone. It waits until everyone is smiling and looking at the camera, and only then takes the picture. Let me show you how to turn it on in the Camera app and position your Duo, then how to review the photos it takes for you.
Transcript
There’s a brand-new feature on the iPhone Duo called Smart Take, which lets you get group photos and selfies without needing to touch the phone. It will detect your smiles, it’ll detect you looking at the screen, and it will only take the picture when everyone’s ready. Let me show you how this works, because it’s a really cool feature, and I love using it on my iPhone Duo.
And if you’re new around here, then hi, my name is Jacob. I’m your friendly Apple expert here on YouTube, to help you make the most of your devices. If you want more QuickTip videos like this, please do press subscribe down below.
Okay, so in the Camera app on the Duo, we can first of all position the phone in different ways. Sometimes I’ll have it flat on the table with the camera pointing out, but having it in this sort of position is also really good for this mode. What we can do here is line up the camera with the person we’re photographing, or the group of people, and then, in the Camera app itself, we’re going to press Camera Options here, scroll to the bottom and choose Smart Take.
This will add a second shutter button to your screen. And if we tap on this one, the yellow one, it’s not going to take a picture immediately. Instead, the phone is going to wait for everyone to be in position, smiling and looking at the camera, and when that happens, it’s going to start taking photos.
You’ll know it’s working because a little flash on the back will pulse gently when it takes a picture. And on the inside screen, if you were looking at it from the other side, you actually get to see the pictures developing on the side, and you can see all the ones it’s taking in real time.
You can then use the photos just like normal. You can open them, and you can delete them. All the photos are exactly the same as before. It’s not some weird format or anything.
The only difference is that the iPhone is now deciding when it thinks the best time to take a picture will be, and it’s going to keep taking pictures until you come over and stop it. So, it’s a good idea to get three or four nice pictures of the group, and then come back and review what you’ve taken.
And look, if you enjoyed this video, I think you’re probably going to like this one next.
Technical details: This QuickTip was recorded on an iPhone Duo running iOS 27 in November 2026.
Disclaimer and trademarks
The content used in this video is intended for educational and informational purposes only. All rights to the images, music, clips, and other media used belong to their respective owners. I do not claim ownership over any third-party content used. This video has not been authorised, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Apple Inc. iPhone is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries and regions. iOS is a registered trademark of Cisco Systems Inc. Whilst I have done my best to list all applicable trademarks for this video, in the (hopefully unlikely) event that I have missed any you can find a full list of trademarks registered to Apple Inc. on their website. Finally, please note that whilst every effort has been made to ensure the information contained within this video was correct at time of publication, please be aware that as future updates and software changes occur some or all elements of this video may become outdated. I will endeavour to remove videos which are completely obsolete so as not to cause confusion!