nothing to see here!
Description
Apple Classroom makes it easy to check in on student activity. With the Class Summary screen, you can view app usage, save any files students have sent you, and see a timeline of each student’s journey through the lesson. Here’s how it works and why it’s one of my favourite features for iPad teaching.
Transcript
Once you finish teaching your lesson with iPad, it’s important that we also stop that lesson in the Classroom app. To do this, all we have to do is tap the three dots in the top right corner and then go on to End Class.
Immediately, you’ll get this class summary screen that comes up on your teacher iPad. At the top, we have all of the apps that have been used by your class during this lesson. Now, ideally, I guess you’d know exactly what apps have been used because you set that task, but sometimes something might come up a little bit unexpected – maybe they’ve been in Photo Booth, or they’ve been playing a game perhaps on their iPad.
Well, if you tap onto the app icon, you can actually see which students have used that app and for how long, and at which point in the lesson. This is a really powerful and really quick way of just checking in to make sure that all the students were doing the activities you expected them to be doing during the lesson.
Now, underneath this section, we then have all the files that have been AirDropped back to your teacher iPad, and if you’re not sure about group AirDrop, there’s a video in the playlist explaining that to you.
Now, at this point, you either have to save those files that have been sent or you lose them when the class has been ended, so you can make that choice now.
And at the bottom of my class summary screen, I have every student in that class. Now just like when you tap on the apps and you get a breakdown of who’s used which app, here, if I tap on the student, I get the opposite – so I can see the student’s journey through my whole lesson and which apps they’ve used and when.
Perhaps starting off with Safari, then moving into Keynote, then going back to Safari to do some more research, or whatever it is your lesson entails. This is by far my favourite part of the class summary screen because you can absolutely see the journey that every student’s been on, should you need to.
And of course, when you’re done, you can simply press Done in the top corner, and then the Apple Classroom app goes back to the home screen ready to start creating your next class when they come in the door.
And that’s Apple Classroom in a nutshell. I hope you find these videos useful, and if you have, please do subscribe to my channel down below where there are hundreds more iPhone QuickTips for you.

Video Details
Thank You
All of my content is completely free to watch. However, to create these videos I require a steady stream of caffeine! If you’ve found this QuickTip helpful then please do consider buying me a coffee. Thank you.
Reviews & Comments
Additional Information
iPhone, iPad and iPadOS are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries and regions. iOS is a registered trademark of Cisco Systems Inc. Whilst I have done my best to list all applicable trademarks for this video, in the (hopefully unlikely) event that I have missed any you can find a full list of trademarks registered to Apple Inc. here.
Finally, please note that whilst every effort has been made to ensure the information contained within this video was correct at time of publication, please be aware that as future updates and software changes occur some or all elements of this video may become outdated. I will endeavour to remove videos which are completely obsolete so as not to cause confusion!
Check out my new iOS 26 Book!

QuickTips





